Falling Into You (Falling #1) by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰+

✰✰✰✰✰+

I wasn’t always in love with Colton Calloway; I was in love with his younger brother, Kyle, first. Kyle was my first one true love, my first in every way.
Then, one stormy August night, he died, and the person I was died with him.

Colton didn’t teach me how to live. He didn’t heal the pain. He didn’t make it okay. He taught me how to hurt, how to not be okay, and, eventually, how to let go.

My Casting

Wow wow, freakin’ wow! Oh my life! That was amazing. Intense. Awesome. So inspiring!

I was asked to review this book by the author and I had no idea what I was letting myself in for. Well, actually, that’s a lie… I absolutely adored Jasinda Wilder’s Wounded, so I knew I liked her writing style and I knew she had the ability to strike a chord in me. But, still… I’m mega excited to say that Falling Into You met my expectations, exceeded them, and some!

“I can tell you what I see. I can tell you what I know about you. I can tell how I feel. I can show you what you really are. But arguing with you won’t accomplish anything. I think we’ve both had our share of people trying to fix us. It doesn’t work. We can only fix ourselves. Let ourselves heal.”

And I am so ridiculously stoked that there is a Falling #2!!!

But don’t worry, this doesn’t end with an earth shattering cliffhanger. Don’t get me wrong, this WILL shatter your earth! Into a million pieces, more than once. But ohmygod it is sooooo worth it. Colton is so worth it!

Moments like this, with Colton? They make it all bearable. He doesn’t fix me, doesn’t heal me. He just makes life worthwhile. He helps me remember to breathe.

This is a pure, no-holds-barred, snotty, all out ugly cry inducing book. I knew what was coming and it still killed me. Jasinda cuts you deep with this one. I have one name for you; Kyle!!

“I know most people would say we’re just kids, or to young too know what love is. But screw that. I’ve known you my whole entire life. We have shared everything together.”

Urgh, Kyle is perfect. He’s gorgeous, he’s smart, he’s loving, he’s her first. He’s faultless… and you fall in love with him. AND THEN HE DIES!!!! OMG! And that is not a spoiler, because it’s in the blurb, so I can say it. Shout it! Scream it because I was sooo angry! Even though I knew it was coming. It was unbearable.

“One breath at a time. One day at a time. Wake up, and be shredded. Cry for a while. Then stop crying and go about your day. You’re not okay, but you’re alive, and you will be okay, someday.”

So, moving on from Kyle, literally, there’s Nell… Nell is wonderful too. She’s a sweet, innocent, happy young girl and her world comes crashing down on her when she loses her boyfriend, her best friend and the only person she has ever loved. She takes it badly. She struggles with some very very dark forms of release and her character becomes barely recognisable.

“It helps – ”
“No it doesn’t. It just pushes it away temporarily. Just like the booze.”
“But I need – ”
“You need to let yourself feel. Feel it, own it. Then move on.”

So this brings me to Colton! Wooo, ‘yay’ for Colton, because he is our hero! And what a hero he is. He has all the mandatory qualifications to be your next favourite book boyf’; Tortured past. Uh huh! Muscles covered in ink? Oh yeh! Firey temper and the need to protect damsels in distress? Ding! *drool*

“They’re in your fucking skin, in your soul, like the essence of who they are is imprinted on you so completely they are the very air you breathe, like each molecule of who you are is tangled together. That’s love.”

He saves Nell. Well, they help to save one another. Both consumed by their pain, they find solace in each other and learn to deal, together. It’s beautifully tragic, but beautiful, all the same.

She’ll hurt me. I know this. I can see it, feel it coming. She’s got so much pain, so many cracks and shards and jags in her soul, and I’m going to get cut by her if I’m not careful.

And then, if the emotion and the heartbreak and the hotness isn’t enough… there’s the sex! *fans self* Oooooh my! This is one steamy ass book!

Do you think I’ve gushed enough yet? You all neeeeed to read this book. It’s a matter of urgency. Well, unless you’re not one for a good cry, then absolutely don’t read it! :/ BUT, if you don’t mind shedding a whole bucket of tears, dive in.

“How do you compete with a ghost, Colton?” I whisper the question into a long silence.
He shrugs. “I don’t know. You don’t. You just understand that there’s a part of you that you can’t give away, because it belongs to a dead person. I don’t know.”

I can not wait for #2!!! I just… ah… I need it, like, now. I hope I don’t have to wait too long. I’m going to go and have a cup of tea now.

“I’m not just falling in love with you, Nell. I’m falling into you. You’re an ocean, and I’m falling in, drowning in the depths of who you are.”

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Angst Overload, Bad Boys, Emotional Reads, Falling Into You, Fighting Men, Five Stars Plus, Jasinda Wilder, Mental Health, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Falling Into You (Falling #1) by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰+

  1. Pingback: Falling Under (Falling #3), by Jasinda Wilder ★★★★★ | Smitten's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

