Surrender Your Love (Surrender Your Love #1) by J.C. Reed ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Meeting Jett was like lightning. Dangerous. Better left untouched. And better forgotten. But lightning always strikes twice.

Brooke Stewart, a realtor in New York, doesn’t do relationships. When she’s sent to a remote estate to finalize a real estate deal, she discovers her new boss is no other than the guy she left naked in bed.

Sexy, dangerously handsome, and arrogant Jett Mayfield attracts trouble, and women, like a lightning rod. But the night he meets Brooke he gets more than he bargained for. The green-eyed millionaire playboy isn’t used to taking no for an answer, and he isn’t about to start now.

When he proposes two months of no strings sex, Brooke is intrigued and accepts his proposal. Little does she know Jett’s determined to claim the one woman he can’t have, pulling her deeper into his dangerous world.

A man who doesn’t take ‘no’ for an answer.
A woman afraid to surrender to love.
Two lives that are about to cross…and secrets laid bare.

My Casting

I always find it a little difficult to review the first book in a series… I feel like I’m writing a review half way through a story, which, I suppose I am.

This book was good. It didn’t move me, but I did enjoy it. I wasn’t compelled to read it every waking second, forgoing sleep, food and showers just to keep turning the pages. But it was good. But here are a few of my thoughts, anyway, for what they’re worth…

And that is the hardest kind of book to review. There was nothing that I intensely disliked, so I can’t grumble. But it didn’t move me or rock my world either, so I can’t rave too much.

There was something that didn’t have me entirely convinced about Jett and Brooke’s affection for one another. I don’t know why, but I didn’t entirely believe in them.

The thing with love is, you cannot choose who you fall for. Falling in love often happens at the wrong time, in the wrong place, with the wrong person. Just as much as you cannot stop growing feelings for a certain man, there’s no switch to turn off your heart.

The most interesting part of this story, for me, was not the relationship between the characters but the mystery behind the romance. I found the last 25% of this book much more gripping than the first 75% and, judging by the ending, think the next book may be more pacey.

“You’re beautiful,” he whispered. “I could watch you, and only you, for the rest of my life.”

Jett annoyed me a little because he was all about Brooke opening up and letting him in, but he was about as far from opening up as he could be. He was secretive and a little detached at times. I felt like Brooke should have given him a piece of her mind a few times…

I really wanted to believe in them and I think maybe it’s too early to be making these judgements. It was a quick read and I truly feel like I’m not able to do it justice by reviewing it half way through the series.

Maybe someday, I’d find someone who’d prove he really loved me. Someone who’d hold me rather than let me fall. Someone who’d never lie to me.

In turn, this made me view Brooke as a bit of a walkover. I wanted her to man up. Again, it’s nothing I can place my finger on, just an overall feeling. But, like I said, with the ending the way it was, I think that I will prefer the second book. The premise of the story is good and has potential so I will definitely read the next book and I will report back and let you know how I feel, then. I’m going to give this three and a half stars because I do think he has potential, but I didn’t love it… yet.

I want Jett to prove himself and Brooke to make him! And I want to know what on earth happens with that Luccazzone estate!!!

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Cliffhanger, Contracts & Arrangements, Four Stars, J.C. Reed, Rich Guys, Surrender Your Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

