Monster (Impossible, #1) by Julia Sykes ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

My life was irrevocably changed that night. The night I was taken. I saved a man’s life, but at what cost to myself? Could I convince him to save me in return?

Pediatrician Claudia Ellers is jerked out of her own safe, secluded world and brought into one of danger and uncertainty on the night that she is kidnapped by Bradley Smith. He forces her to save the life of his best friend, Sean Reynolds, under threat of death. But when her task is complete, Sean decrees that she can’t be allowed to leave; she knows too much. Claudia is resentful of her captors, desperate to escape. But the more time she spends trapped with Sean, the harder she finds it to cling to her hatred for him. He is an enigma of a man, one who is shockingly arrogant, sweetly contrite, and frighteningly aggressive by turns. And the sexual tension between them is scorching. The longer she remains in his grip, the more confused she becomes about what she must do. Is her freedom worth betraying him?

Find out in Monster (Impossible #1), to be released 29 March 2013!

Warning: This book contains graphic language and scorching sex scenes involving BDSM.

Note: This is NOT a paranormal romance!

My Casting

I really liked this book. Despite the fact that most of it takes place in just one room, it wasn’t slow paced and didn’t drag. In fact, quite the opposite, I felt it was a little short… kind of blink-and-you’ll-miss-it. I felt that it kind of came to an abrupt, unsatisfying end.

I breathed deeply, but the scent of freedom didn’t smell nearly as sweet as I had thought it would.

Obviously, it is going to be the first book in a series, so I will certainly withhold judgement until I have read the rest. But, rather than being a story in itself I kind of felt like this was a prelude… it set the story up, it introduced the characters, but at only 150 pages, not all that much was able to happen…

The writing was engaging, the basis for the story is exciting and I think it will make for a good series. And, following the ending, I can’t imagine how this is going to unfold, so I am certainly intrigued and wanting more.

“Are you really going to keep me here forever?”
“Right now, forever with you doesn’t seem like such a bad fate.”

Sean is a hot, injured, dominant, alpha-male, bad-boy criminal. He’s cocky, arrogant and no stranger to the world of crime, but he also saves Claudia’s life and she can’t ignore the sensitivity that he seems to hide underneath his hard exterior.

He was such an enigma: unbearably cocky, somewhat terrifying, and shockingly tender by turns.
And I couldn’t seem to resist him.

Claudia, the lead female, irritated me at times, but she redeemed herself after a while and by the end of the book, I wasn’t entirely sure what ending I wanted… did I want them together, did I want her free, did I want him caught…? Aaaah, I’m still undecided. But I liked that Claudia was battling with her own issues.

I had come to the realization that my captivity had forced me to renew human contact for the first time in years.

These Stockholm type stories fascinate me because I love that writers can really make you believe that the captor is worth feeling for. It never ceases to amaze me. Aren’t we such suckers! 😉

“If you feel anything like what I… Please,” I begged. “I need my life back. I need myself back. I don’t know who I am when I’m with you. I don’t like who I am when I’m with you.”

Looking forward to the next instalment.

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Alpha Males, Bad Boys, BDSM, Cliffhanger, Four Stars, Impossible Series, Julia Sykes, Kidnap, Monster, Quick Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

