Light in the Shadows (Find You in the Dark #2) by A. Meredith Walters ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

How do you keep going when you feel like your life is over?

Maggie never thought she’d see Clay again. So, she attempts to put her life back together after her heart has been shattered to pieces. Moving on and moving forward, just as Clay wanted her to.

Clay never stopped thinking of Maggie. Even after ripping their lives apart and leaving her behind to get the help he so desperately needed. He is healing…slowly. But his heart still belongs to the girl who tried to save him.

When a sudden tragedy brings Maggie and Clay face to face again, nothing is the same. Yet some things never change. Can the darkness that threatened to consume them be transformed into something else and finally give them what they always wanted? And can two people who fought so hard to be together, finally find their happiness? Or will their demons and fear drive them apart for good?

The thing about love, is even when it destroys you, it has a way of mending what is broken. And in the shadows, you can still see the light.

My Casting

Noooo!!!! No, there was no cliffhanger, I just sooo did not want this series to end.

“I love you, Maggie May Young. Always and forever.” And then my mouth touched hers and I felt my future begin.

I stumbled upon Find You in the Dark by chance when I saw someone else’s review, and never expected it to pack such a punch. I didn’t realise that the first book had a cliffhanger when I went into it, and I remember being so completely floored by it.

“Our heads have a nasty habit of ruining what can make us happiest. And there are times in our lives when you have to put aside what we think is best and do with what you feel is best.”

And now I’ve read the second book. I got the HEA I wanted for Maggie and Clay and I’m left feeling a little bereft.

 

I love Clay, so so so much. He is probably one of the most complex, tortured characters I have ever read, but he has had such a profound effect on me. This is the type of book that opens up your mind and your heart. I cried for Maggie and Clay, I laughed with them and I lived every second right along side them.

“You are everything good in my life. Even when I thought all I had was the darkness, you were there. And you gave me something to live for. I couldn’t let you go. No matter how hard I tried. I know now that’s because to lose you would be losing the very best part of myself.”

The writing is freakin’ awesome. There are some priceless one liners that will made me snort my cuppa’ tea through my nose. A. Meredith Walters has quite the sense of humour. The writing is candid and perfectly fitting for the age and gender of each character. I loved reading Clay’s POV through his therapy, and Maggie is just perfect as a heroine throughout. She is likeable, realistic and ordinary. Gosh, the strength of character she has to show in some part of this story are totally humbling.

Knowing the author’s personal experience with counselling children and teens with mental health issues just makes the story that much more intense. It gives the reading weight and authenticity and made my empathy for the characters just that much rawer.

There were times I left my sessions feeling like I was a step closer to being the person I wanted to be. The guy who would be able to show up on Maggie May Young’s doorstep and tell her that his life would always begin and end with her.

I’d love another novella about Rachel and Daniel, Maggie’s two best friends, who’s book, ‘Cloud Walking’, was a great addition to this series, and maybe even something a little extra about Maggie and Clay. Fingers tightly crossed that we hear more from these fabulous characters.

 

If you haven’t read this yet, or you’ve been hanging on for the happy ending, don’t wait any longer. It’s simply superb!

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in A. Meredith Walters, Angst Overload, College Romance, Emotional Reads, Find You in the Dark Series, Five Stars, Light in the Shadows, Mental Health, Young Adult Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Light in the Shadows (Find You in the Dark #2) by A. Meredith Walters ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Pingback: Smitten’s Author of the Week #8: A. Meredith Walters | Smitten's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Smitten’s Author of the Week #8: Anne Eliot | Smitten's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Smitten’s Author of the Week #11: M. Pierce | Smitten's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

