Plastic Hearts (Hearts #1) by Lisa De Jong ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

My life has always been safe. I like it that way. I grew up in a fake society where plastic hearts rule. If our hearts are made of plastic, they can never be broken. My parents have expectations and I do everything I can to meet them, even if it means giving up on my own dreams. 

Now, all I want is to be free to make my own choices.

Dane Wright is everything I have been warned to stay away from. We met one night while I was with my perfect, parent-approved boyfriend and I haven’t stopped thinking about him. I don’t want to like him. I am doing everything I can to ignore his pull, but my heart seems to want what it cannot have, what it has never had.

Can he measure up? He may think I am too good for him, but maybe he is too good for me. 

Life is a series of choices and I have never been able to make my own. Until one day, when my heart decides to make a choice for me.

Recommended for mature readers due to sexual content and language.

My Casting 

Plastic hearts are made so they cannot be broken. Cracked maybe, but never broken.

An absolutely beautiful book. I was really feeling the need for a bit of back-to-school/college, teen/young adult romance and Plastic Hearts totally filled that spot.

This was such an easy read for me. It flowed, it was engaging, I liked the characters, it was well paced and I didn’t want to put it down.

 

Quick Outline:
Alexandra Riley’s parents have her life mapped out for her. She is expected to become a doctor, marry a man they know and approve of and be the perfect little daughter. And until now, she has seen no choice but to go along with their wishes. But college is opening her eyes and she is gradually beginning to see that there is more to life than status and money.
When she ends things with her parent-approved, childhood-friend boyfriend, Alexandra starts to discover Alex, the real her. The her who would rather put paint to canvas, than study Pre-Med… And the her would rather take a chance on cocky, tattoed bad boy, Dane Wright, than date the polo-shirt-wearing, good boys that her mother has lined up for her.
Plastic Hearts is Alex’s journey of self discovery and the choices she has to make along the way. Can both sides of Alex’s life meet in the middle or will she have to forfeit one for the other?

This man standing in front of me right now could break me into a million pieces, but if I didn’t let him in I’d never feel that deep down in my stomach kind of love; I’d be forever unbreakable.

I know some people think they are overdone, but I love a ‘good girl meets bad boy’ story! I could read them all day long. And this was no exception. I can’t get enough of the good-girl who gets roughed up around the edges and the bad-boy who comes good for his girl! It never gets old.

He was everything I didn’t think I could have and somehow, he’d become everything I needed.

Dane is cocky, arrogant, super sexy and just a little bit naughty. Like a lot of these characters, he’s got a dark past and some dangerous secrets.

Dane was the most exciting and scariest thing to ever enter my plastic world.

But he falls head over heels for our girl Alex and is utterly adorable in his pursuit of her. Is there anything quite like a hard-man that knows exactly the right thing to say?

“Do you want a big wedding?”
He pulled back and looked right into my eyes. “I didn’t want a wedding at all until this certain girl popped into my life. Now I want whatever she wants. I would do anything to make her happy.”

Alex is likeable from the beginning, but clearly needed bringing out of her shell. However, I think the author did a great job of writing her, with a mixture of hesitation and intrigue when it came to Dane. She wasn’t irritating and she resisted his advances just long enough that it didn’t draw out and make me want to poke her between the eyes. The book begins when Alex starts to take charge of her life, which I think makes the reader connect to her from the get-go.

I wanted the type of love I could feel from head to toe, the type where I felt every kiss deep down in the pit of my stomach, the type where the mere mention of his name made me smile from ear to ear and ignited a passion within me so strong that even on our worst days our love was better than any other love around us.

There are no nasty surprises in the book, it’s pretty easy going, but I did shed a little tear at one point. And I’m thrilled to find out that there is a #2, Glass Hearts, which I understand is a continuation of Alex and Dane’s story. But never fear, this book does have a happy ending… the characters just have a long journey ahead of them, which I can’t wait to read more of.

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Bad Boys, College Romance, Five Stars, Lisa De Jong, Plastic Hearts, Stand Alones, Virginal Heroine, Young Adult Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

