‘The Exception to the Rule’ by Beth Rinyu ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

When Katrina “Kat” Vallia, an idealistic if somewhat naive 20-something American pediatrician travels halfway across the globe to volunteer in a poor African village, she looks at it as a means of closure. Following a bitter breakup with her unfaithful boyfriend, she decides to throw herself into her work without any distractions from a man. That’s until she encounters Dr. Julian Kiron, a handsome, career driven pediatric oncologist. Even though she tries to fight it, Kat finds herself falling deeply for him; until she painfully realizes that they both want totally different things from life. Not willing to compromise for the other, they sadly say goodbye, cutting all ties.

Five years later, Kat’s happy world is turned upside down when she is given devastating news. She must now confront her past and the secret she’s harbored for years. But will saving the one she loves most also rekindle the love she let slip away?

My Casting

Another unexpected treasure. I was asked to review this book by the author and I skimmed the blurb, checked the genre and agreed. I’m so glad I did.

“There’s always someone or something that will make you feel so strongly that you will go against everything you are ever taught or planned.”

This book was completely addictive. It was a rollercoaster of intense emotions. If you aren’t one for cathartic release, don’t read this book. But I can tell you it is totally worth the tears.

“You will never ever just be some girl to me, you were the girl.”

There is very little I can say without giving away some huge plot twists, because the blurb is limited and there are life changing developments in this book that kind of map out the entire destiny of the characters… so I’m very restricted with what I can mention…

“You will know the one, and once you find him nobody will ever be able to replace him.”

 

What I can say, though, is that it is a page turner. I couldn’t put it down and I was completely hooked. Kat is instantly likeable, Julian is totally moreish and the writing is extremely evocative! I was pulled in to the story and my heart was pulled in every direction imaginable.

“I didn’t want to be that girl who meant nothing to you.”
“Never, you are so much more, that is scares me. I’m in love with you Kat. I’ve been trying to fight it as hard as I could – but I can’t anymore.”

There are some very special surrounding characters that completely make the story what it is. But you will have to read if you’d like to find out more about that.

The ending is perfect. I couldn’t have wished for a better HEA for these characters. I now need to go and restock my Kleenex supply, sort out the mess that is my tear stained face and get rid of this book hangover! And whilst I’m doing that, I want you all to add this to your TBR lists! It’s a really beautifully, strong, emotional romance and I can’t wait for everyone else to read it.

“You were the the exception to the rule. You were the one person who made me rethink everything I ever believed in and I’m so happy that you did.”

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Beth Rinyu, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Stand Alones, The Exception to the Rule. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

