Broken by Christa Cervone ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

According to Webster’s Dictionary the definition of the word Broken is violently separated into parts. SHATTERED.

Yup, that pretty much sums me up. How do I handle things? I find my answers at the bottom of a bottle of Tequila and sleep with random men. 

How did I get this way? Well, four years ago I made a decision that cost me the love of my life. I can’t undo what I did to drive Garrett out of my life. I haven’t seen or heard from him in four long years. But he still haunts me in my dreams or should I call them nightmares at this point? No matter how much booze I drink and how many men I sleep with, nothing fills the void. I feel like I am existing but I’m not really living.

I’m trying to get my life back on track. Well that was until. . . . Garrett walked back into my life. His reappearance threw me into another tailspin. 
How do I put the pieces of our broken hearts back together? All before he walks out of my life again… this time for good. Or am I simply destined to just be Broken?

My Casting

Aaw, what an adorable story. I feel odd saying that this was angst-less, because it deals with alcohol abuse, sex addictions, abortion, debilitating injury and other dark issues… but for some reason, it didn’t rip my heart out.

It was a speedy, super easy, loveable read!

Leila says she isn’t a slut. She absolutely, 100% is. She has her reasons, granted, but she is still a slut. After having her heart broken by the love of her life, she spirals into a pit of sex and alcohol abuse to sooth her wounds.

My self-destructive behaviour and self-hatred had hit an all-time high.

Four years on and she still hasn’t found any healthier coping mechanisms. Just when it seems that it might be impossible to get over the gorgeous Garratt, he shows up back in her life.

Garrett… YUM!!! Tattooed, hot, wounded Marine! Certainly wouldn’t kick him outta bed in a hurry.

I was here with the most amazing man. He didn’t even care about my past. He wanted me exactly how I was, even if I was broken.

Leila and Garrett’s reconnection was painful in a lot of ways. They had various demons from their past to over come and Leila had some serious issues that she had to overcome. But it was drawn out or excruciating. It simple followed their journey as they righted all their wrongs and fell back in love… or, more accurately, rekindled the love that they never fell out of.

“My world stopped when we were apart. I felt like I had nothing to live for. Now you are back… Now you are back and I’m alive again.”

And things are seriously steamy in the meantime! Phhhheeewwww! Some of the sex scenes in this are off-the-scale hot! Whipped cream, sexting, battery operated bunnies… to name a few of the more memorable scenes.

“I love you Garrett.”
“I love you too,” he laughed. “God, I fucking love you.”

I felt that some parts of the book were glossed over a little quickly and it might have benefited from a climatic emotional breakdown or something, somewhere toward the 75% mark. But other than that, I really enjoyed the book.

I cannot change the decisions that I have made in the past, but I can learn from them and make the most of the life that I am living now.

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Smittens-Book-Blog/525405204177978

This entry was posted in Broken, Christa Cervone, Four Stars, Quick Reads, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

