‘A Delicate Truth’ by Zoe McKnight ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Blair and Vaughn have put their past behind them, renewed their vows, and embarked on a new chapter of their lives. They appear to have it all. Wealth, devotion, and now, a little girl. But, there’s something Vaughn doesn’t know. Something that would devastate him and bring Blair’s walls crumbling down around her. 

Their child, his precious, long-awaited daughter, is not his. 

It’s a secret Blair is determined to take to the grave. But when her ex—the child’s real father—emerges, making it clear he wants to be in his daughter’s life, Blair is launched into a whirlwind of lies, deceit, and desperation. 

A Delicate Truth is a powerful story about a woman desperately clinging to the life she’s worked so hard to build, and contending with the mistakes of her past so they don’t destroy her future.

My Casting

What a moving, powerful book! So much more than I’d bargained for and completely overwhelming. A quick read that surpassed all of my expectations.

Resentment is the worst. Because unlike sadness or anger, it lingers, dangling overhead like a chandelier of shattered glass. At any given moment a shard can fall and slice through an old wound.

A Delicate Truth is the second of Zoe McKnight’s books, but I haven’t read the first and let me tell you, this is an amazing stand-alone, as well as a sequel. Obviously I can’t vouch for the first book but I highly recommend this one.

Blair’s story fraught with lies and deceit that I honestly had no idea how it was going to wind up. I was completely compelled and read the book in one sitting.

Despite Blair’s affair and dishonesty, I couldn’t dislike her. And the same goes for Vaughn, and I can’t really put my finger on why.

Vaughn and Blair are college sweethearts. They met at a young age, fell in love, married, he got into the NFL, became rich and had a string of affairs… Blair’s unhappiness drove her to seek something that her marriage was nolonger provided and that is where Dylan comes along. Dylan and Blair conducted a year long affair, which resulted in their daughter, Morgan, being born. However, Blair and Vaughn decide to try and rekindle their love and Blair makes the decision to pass Morgan off as Vaughn’s daughter. This is the story of what happens when Dylan decides he wants to be a part of his daughters’ life.

I, of all people, know that trust is fragile, and even the people who love you aren’t above betrayal.

Everybody is a victim in this story. I was heartbroken for Blair, because although she was wrong to have the affair, she had been betrayed by the man she loved.

The perfect family – the rich, handsome former athlete, his beautiful wife and their beloved daughter.

I was heartbroken for Dylan, because he was caught up in an ugly web of lies. He loved Blair but she belonged to another man. He wanted to know his daughter, but things were never simple.

“I’ll walk away from you because I have to, but I won’t walk away from my daughter. If I do, I’ll never forgive myself. So if there’s any part of you which still loves me, please don’t ask me to.”

And I even felt sorry for Vaughn, because, despite his mistakes and his past discretions, the daughter that he loved and had thought was his own, was the child of another man. How painful must that be to find out?

“A father is a man who loves and provides, that’s all. And that’s who Vaughn is. He’d give his life for that little girl. You can’t take that away from him. And you can’t take him away from her. They love each other. And that’s all that matters.”

I cried, I read at 100mph, I had to restrain myself from flicking forward to find out what happened… I got absolutely no ‘real life’ stuff done today, because I could not put this book down.


Somehow I thought I had it all figured out, thought that I could predict everyone’s moves. I drew the puppet strings and laid preemptive strikes, but none of this was ever in my control.

I went backwards and forwards the whole way through the book… Team Vaughn. Team Dylan. Team Vaughn. Team Dylan. Want to know where I ended up? Well, then you’ll have to read the book! 😉

He cups my face in his hands and stares down into my eyes. “Two things…”
I take a deep breath and look up at him.
“…I’m sorry for everything and… And I’ll always love you. Don’t ever forget that.”

Cue me sobbing.

This is angst-up-to-the-eyeballs, heart wrenching, painful and completely delicious!

“I just want to be able to look at Blair and see the woman I fell in love with. Not the woman who did what she did. And it’s getting harder every day.”

It makes you second guess your own morals, wonder why the hell you’re crying for these lying, messed up people and it will have you on the edge of your seat.

 

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in A Delicate Truth, Angst Overload, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Love Triangle, Quick Reads, Stand Alones, Zoe McKnight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

