‘Three of Hearts’ by W. Ferraro ✰✰✰

✰✰✰

Mae Turney is searching for the type of life and happiness she has never known but has only dreamed about. She’s fortunate enough to find a great opportunity to live in an exterior apartment of a beautiful lake house in a small town in Vermont. When she realizes the apartment and scenery are not the only gorgeous appeal but the home owner, Seth Finn, is as well, she puts it all on the line for the chance at love. When she becomes comfortable and confident in her own skin and sexuality, Mae realizes that this place and this man is exactly what she came looking for. Knowing Seth and his three children are as special as they come, Mae bets the house, and prays she and her gamble are enough.

Okay, before I begin this review, I want to start off by saying that I would never advise somebody not to read a book. I will advise on what books I have loved and will speak as I find about all books I have read. But I truly believe that every book has an audience and that the saying ‘no two people read the same book’ is so very true.

That said, unfortunately, this book wasn’t for me, so I’m giving it 2.5 stars. I started it last week and just couldn’t connect with the characters. I don’t know why and I can’t put my finger on anything specific, I just couldn’t immerse myself in the characters’ worlds.

I liked both Mae and Seth, there was nothing to dislike (in the beginning, but we’ll come to that in a sec) But I found myself wondering about the weather or what I was having for dinner that evening.

I put the book down at 40% and decided to have a change for a while. After another couple of books, I started on Three of Hearts again. I will admit, for a while, I thought maybe I would have more luck the second time around, but I still wasn’t feeling entirely engaged. I felt that the book kind of dragged with nothing much happening.

And then I got to the 70% mark and I was totally shocked. Now, I’m no prude but if any man spoke to me like this, in a crowded, public bar, in front of all of our friends, not to mention about something so trivial, he would be eating his balls for breakfast!!!

“You don’t ever get to fucking decide what is my business and what isn’t my business when it comes to my kids, Mae. You knew how I felt about him driving that boat and you deliberately didn’t tell me so you could, what, get all fucked out and then when you got your rocks off you were going tell me? When I was finished fucking going down on you?”

“Now you can get your fucking ass out of my house tonight. Stay the fuck away from my kids and stay the fuck away from me.”

And this is the woman he loves??? Pffft, yeh right. I don’t care how annoyed someone is, you don’t speak to the person you love, with such little respect. For me that kind of put the tin lid on it. After that, Seth irritated me and I couldn’t see past the way he had treated Mae. I felt like the author was trying to create a climax that really shouldn’t have been all that climatic. A simple, civilized discussion would have been more appropriate and much more in keeping with the characters in my opinion.

The other thing that annoyed me was Seth and Mae’s decision to ‘take things slowly’… the next thing you know, they’re having sex on a rock by the lake…!!! And this man has three kids and is supposed to be being careful about who he brings into their lives. It was all a bit far fetched for me.

Other than my issue with Seth’s outburst and the way Mae and Seth threw themselves into ‘taking it slow’, this is not a bad book. I just didn’t connect with the story, and sometimes, I think it just goes that way. It isn’t poorly written and the characters are, on the whole, likeable. Seth’s kids are adorable and the surrounding characters work well. I think maybe some of the dialogue didn’t sit quite right with me. It was a little formal and OTT for my liking.

“I need you. I need to feel what only you and I can feel; the miraculous sensation of when our hearts touch and our souls entwine.”

But, as I mentioned, every book has it’s audience and no doubt others will read this and fall deeply in love with Seth. Mae is a great character and is pretty easy to love, so I think I can see a lot of women relating to her.

“You are not a replacement in any way; you are your own person and what I feel for you, is yours and wholly yours.”

I’d be interested to hear the opinions of others’ on this book to see if it was just my own issues that stopped me from investing in Mae and Seth’s story.

Find this book on Goodreads

goodreads

Why not exercise that ‘One Click’ button? Purchase this book on Amazon.

Book Characters3Book Characters1

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Stand Alones, Three of Hearts, Three Stars, W. Ferraro. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

