‘Wilson Mooney Eighteen at Last’ (Wilson Mooney #2) by Gretchen de la O ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Chained by unfortunate timing and restricted by society’s expectations, every choice Wilson and Max make becomes pivotal to their future together.

Eager to take their relationship to the next level, Wilson returns to Aspen with Max to celebrate her eighteenth birthday. When an uncontrollable situation leads to a split-second decision, both will be tested like never before. Butterflies will soar, hearts will clash, and Wilson’s relationship with Max will spin into a silken cocoon with choices that seem too impossible to overcome.

Could it be…uncovering the deep ache that lays dormant in their hearts will become the real threat to their forbidden love? Or will the pressures of keeping their relationship a secret be too much to bear?

My Casting

Oh my life! Where to start…? Okay, I’ll start at the end… it’s a cliffhanger! Argh, I don’t mind having my heart ripped out and stomped all over, as long as the characters tenderly put it back together and restore it to it’s rightful place by the end… and they didn’t! *sob*

But… freakin’ brilliant book!!! What a difference a month can make.

This book picks up, after quite a funny epilogue from Max’s POV, a month after the first book ends. On Wilson’s 18th birthday.

“Yeah, well, if it wasn’t your birthday and I wasn’t so madly in love with you-” his voice trailed off…

Again, the book spans over a few short period of time, only a few days… but pretty much, anything that can possibly go wrong over a matter of days, does!

When everything in my gut is telling me it’s right, how can it be wrong?

There are some gorgeously swoonworthy bits too… the sex scenes are much more detailed than the first, and much steamier. Like I said, the difference a month makes, hey?! I love Max and Wilson together. The sensuality of their exploration of one another, and the circumstances which lead to it, was quite emotional.

“It was perfect. You took me to a place where I didn’t have to worry about being healed or fixed. It wasn’t about that. We experienced something nobody will ever be able to touch or take away. What you gave me I will cherish for as long as I live.”

I don’t want to write too much and include any spoilers, but know that this book is so much more angsty than the first. There are a lot more dark subject matters broached and my stomach was in knots for about 50% of the book. Oh God, poor Wilson, poor Max! They both need each others’ support and leave, but both are too broken and distraught to give it. It’s painful.

I loved him so much, more than any moment or event could ever render. He was my air, my water, my blood pumping through my veins. I gave him every hidden spoke in my wheel. Every little thing that meant anything to me was nothing compared to him. To see him in so much pain cracked my soul.

I did absolutely love it though. I read it during one afternoon and evening… beginning at lunch time and finishing at 1am, cooking dinner and working in between. I can’t find any details about a release of the third book, so I’m guessing it’s nowhere near release, which just shatters my broken heart a little more… I need that third book. Wilson and Max are meant for each other and they have so much to overcome, I need to know it’s all going to be okay.

“I don’t want to ever have to imagine a moment without you next to me ever again.”

Thank God for the epilogue and for the sneak peak of a chapter from book #3 on the author’s website. That gives you a small semblance of hope that things might be salvageable and allowed me some kind of composure… otherwise I would have been a mess.

I stood watching the warm glow of light pouring through the glass of the front door. stared at my hand as I clutched the frigid knob and wondered if, by opening it, I’d be stepping into a situation that would heal my heart or shatter it completely.

 

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Angst Overload, Cliffhanger, College Romance, Five Stars, Forbidden Love, Gretchen de la O, Student/Teacher Romance, Virginal Heroine, Wilson Mooney, Wilson Mooney Eighteen at Last, Young Adult Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

