‘Wilson Mooney: Almost Eighteen’ (Wilson Mooney #1) by Gretchen de la O ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Abandoned by her mother at the vulnerable age of eight; only to be shipped off to a boarding school in Northern California by her grandparents, Wilson Mooney, is one girl who knows what it’s like to have to grow up way too fast. Now, a month away from turning eighteen and orphaned by the death of her grandparents; she knows exactly what she wants. All it takes is a spontaneous ski trip with her narcissistic roommate to Colorado, to make it a reality. When he happens to show up at a party in Aspen, Wilson becomes tangled in the powerful emotions of first love, sexual inexperience, and society’s principles. She lives a whirlwind weekend filled with newly discovered boundaries, calloused aches for a family she never had, and all the pressures of keeping their weekend together a secret.

My Casting

Another absolute gem of a book! I honestly don’t know if there is anything better than a book that makes you fall in love with it!
Especially when you go into the book with no idea what to expect, which is very often the case when reading a book to review. It’s often an unknown entity that isn’t widely heard of, so when I find a book that I just can’t put down, it makes me so excited!

And Wilson Mooney: Almost Eighteen was one of those books.

It’s a story of forbidden love between a 22-year-old teacher and a 17-year-old student. Delicious!

His career, my education, his freedom, my innocence…all tied together in a nice little package of morality.

The whole book takes place over just two days, which I would have thought would have made the book stung out and slow… but no, that couldn’t be further from the truth.

“It hasn’t been just a weekend for me, Wilson. I’ve wanted you for so long. I fought off the thoughts every day, exhausting every option to keep you off my mind; I can’t do it anymore. I want you right here.” He pressed his fingers to his chest, “All the time.”

I literally couldn’t get enough of this. It was utterly scrumptious. The sexual tension was rife, the characters desperation for one another and to preserve what they had together was moreish.

“Is this how you see me – as your government teacher? Because if I saw you as a student I wouldn’t be here right now. When I look at you I see the girl I want to be with. Have since the first day you walked into my room.”

Wilson is a great female lead. She is likeable, down to earth and level headed. She fantasises about her sexy teacher in her own niave, innocent mind, but of course, they are only dreams and wishes… She’d love to think that perhaps her wishes might be granted, a girl can dream, right? But of course, it’s a long shot and these things just don’t happen in real life, do they??

Max is perfection personified. He’s mature, caring, sensitive, adoring, gorgeous… and forbidden, which makes him all the more yummy! But he’s had a thing for Wilson for a long time and he’s finally tired of fighting his feelings. And so the journey into the world of forbidden, secret love begins.

“There are a ton of reasons why I shouldn’t be with you, but none are convincing enough to keep me from being here, tonight.”

If you like your romances super hot, full of drama or riddled with angst, this might not be for you. This book is very YA. The sex scenes aren’t graphic and the detail is more about how the heroine is feeling rather than what is happening. It’s a fairly innocent narrative with a restrained dose of sensuality and taboo thrown in to really grip the reader. It works well and was definitely enough to hold my attention and have me chomping at the bit for the second book.

I can not wait to dive straight into the second book, which I will be doing as soon as I have finished up with this review. I need to find out what happens next, now that Max and Wilson have to face real life, the inevitable judgement of society and how Wilson’s upcoming eighteenth birthday will affect their journey.

“Wilson, think of this as the beginning. Not the end.”

 

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in College Romance, Delicious Sexual Tension, Five Stars, Forbidden Love, Gretchen de la O, Student/Teacher Romance, Virginal Heroine, Wilson Mooney, Wilson Mooney: Almost Eighteen, Young Adult Reads and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

