‘The Boots My Mother Gave Me’ by Brooklyn James ✰✰✰

✰✰✰

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to walk through life in someone else’s shoes?

Strong-willed tomboy Harley LeBeau puts you in the boots her mother gave her, as she takes you along her journey of escape from an abusive childhood and the desire to find herself as she comes of age. Made to feel a burden to her father simply by her gender, Harley is determined to prove her worth and independence, leaving the small town she grew up in and the one boy who gave her a soft place to fall, Jeremiah Johnson. Torn between saving herself and abandoning her mother and younger sister, Harley chooses her own life in hopes they will choose theirs, too.

A mature, candid read for everyone. A must for women. The Boots My Mother Gave Me explores the dynamics of abuse and dysfunction, the courage to overcome, the strength in sisterhood, and the ongoing conflict and unconditional love between mothers and daughters.

Climb into Charlene the Chevelle for a fast-paced story about a girl who is tough enough to survive and tender enough to learn to trust in love.

 

I was really excited to read this. I’d read a lot of great reviews and had high expectations… I guess what they say is true, different strokes for different folks.

I find this book sooooo frustrating. I didn’t get the heroine at all! She drove me insane.

Harley has issues. She comes from a dysfunctional family. Her father is abusive, her mother is his enabler. And the effect it has on the rest of her life is monumental.

Mr Yumani, my fifth grade science teacher, so specific in his explanation, made it clear: I did not have a soul, not in my abdomen or my chest, eben though it always seemed to ache there when I was offended, hurt, or otherwise affexted. My soul, my feelings, my emotions actually resided in my brain.
Life-changing and empowering, Mr. Yumani’s lecture ranked as one of the most significant experiences in my ten years of life. The mind controlled all things; I was on my way to emotional and psychological freedom.

It’s difficult for me to write a thorough review, but to put it plainly, Harley has an inbuilt ‘flight’ instinct. She couldn’t commit to anything… a job, a town, a man…! So frustrating.

“Have you ever missed someone so bad it hurts?”
“Feels like you can’t breathe.”

Jeremiah, her closest childhood friend, is just wonderful.

If any two souls were ever meant to be one, we were they.

They experienced all of their ‘firsts’ together, supported one another through hardships, helped each other through the trials of school.

He wasn’t just some guy and apparently I was that girl, because I wanted to surrender to him, completely. My first at everything, I wanted him to continue that tradition.

He’s gorgeous, kind and clearly loves Harley more than life itself. And she is nothing but a flakey tease! Urgh, I wanted to slap her.

I ended up skimming a fair amount of the final quarter of this book. And I found myself very easily distracted. I just could not invest myself in Harley’s story. I wanted to shake her and point out what was right in front of her. And I wanted to give poor Jeremiah a cuddle. He put up with way more than Harley deserved in my opinion.

“You think I can’t feel it. Every time you’re close to me. You want me, but you don’t. You give a little then you take it away. How do you do that? You get close to me, I want you. I hear your voice, I want you. You look at me and I want you. You do things to me, Harley-girl. You move me, affect me, in here,” he said, putting his hand over his heart. “I don’t know how you do it, push me away. I’ve tried to push you away. Talk myself out of you. Get you out of me. But it never works. You’re just there. It’s always been you.”

So yeh, this book didn’t float my boat I’m afraid. Jeremiah was the best thing about this story and he didn’t feature nearly enough for my tastes.

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Brooklyn James, Friends to Lovers, Stand Alones, The Boots My Mother Gave Me, Three Stars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

