Rock the Heart (Black Falcon #1) by Michelle A. Valentine ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

For the last four years, good girl Lane has regretted breaking up with Noel Falcon. She thought she was sensible when she told him his dreams of being a rock star would get him nowhere, but now that he’s a rock god and her career is stagnant, she realizes just how wrong she was. When Noel hires the marketing company where Lane is an intern, she’s forced to see him again. If she wants to land her dream job as executive within the company, she has to win him over and secure his account. Too bad Noel is still pissed at her for breaking his heart.

When Lane’s company flies her to a Black Falcon concert to gain Noel’s attention, emotions run high the moment she sees him and realizes she’s far from over him. But Noel’s countless trysts with groupies and his cocky attitude make Lane believe he isn’t the same guy she once loved—now he seems to only want her body. Then after Lane discloses she needs him to procure a job, Noel proves he’s a changed man by forcing her to go on the road with him in order to get it.

After Lane reluctantly takes Noel up on his offer, she becomes willing to do whatever it takes to keep him satisfied, even if it means succumbing to his seductive ways. Lane soon finds deception is a dangerous game and she’s not the only one playing.

My Casting

If you’re a lover of sexy, rockstar love stories, you’ll love this. Great for fans of The Sinners, The Mighty Storm, etc.

However, as much as I loved it, I found it a little too reminiscent of the books I mentioned above. It had a bit of each story thrown in to make one new book.

I loved Noel. He is seriously, drool worthy and will have any rock hero fanatic drooling from the very beginning. With his cocky self assured one liners and his desperate love for Lanie, you can’t not fall in love with Noel Falcon. And Lanie, however much she tries to deny it, isn’t immune either, finding herself in a position where she is forced to spend every waking moment with him, whilst he remains determined to wear down her walls.

“Nothing is more important than this job.”
“Good, I’m glad to hear that because it’s about to take up every minute of your life.”

The writing is engaging and witty. I loved the banter between Lanie and Noel when they first meet up again. The scrummy sexual tension between two people who don’t want to want one another, but just can’t help it. Yum!

“This next song goes out to the girl who shredded my heart without hesitation back in high school. It’s called Ball Busting Bitch, and Lanie, this one’s for you.”

Lanie, however, I wasn’t totally sold on. I can’t really put my finger on what it was about her that I didn’t warm to, but she wound me up a bit. I’m not a huge fan of the goodie-goodie heroine and I think I put her into that category. I didn’t like her reasons for ending the relationship with Noel four years ago, which I think put her on the back foot, and then I felt like she was way too judgemental for my liking. I didn’t think she deserved Noel, who I was quite happy to take off her hands when she was irritatingly rebuffing. Girl, he’s hot. He loves you. He’s a rocking sex God. And did I mention he’s hot? Yeh, I wouldn’t kick him out of bed for a biscuit!

“Now that I have you back, I can’t see my life without you. When I think about my future, I think about you.”

As for bed… *fans self* there are some steamy ass scenes in Rock the Heart. I love a man who knows what he wants, and Noel sure comes under that heading. The sex is haaawwwt!

“Fuck the entire world. All that matters is what you think of me.”

So, if you don’t mind a bit of the same ol’ childhood lovers reunite, good girl tames bad boy rocker, tours with him on tour bus, groupies and past whores rear their ugly, slutty, little heads, etc. etc. then give this a whirl, because it is a good in it’s own right… just a little too similar to other reads for me to bust out the full on five star rating, for me. But if you love rock star romance, you’ll definitely enjoy Rock the Heart!


“The only mistake when it comes to love, is not going for it.”

 

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Black Falcon, Contracts & Arrangements, Delicious Sexual Tension, Four Stars, Michelle A. Valentine, Rock Star Romance, Rock the Heart, Steamy Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rock the Heart (Black Falcon #1) by Michelle A. Valentine ✰✰✰✰

  1. This is just so hot – hot story and hot pics ❤

Leave a Reply

