The Education of Sebastian by Jane Harvey-Berrick ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

A friendship between the lost and lonely Caroline, and the unhappy Sebastian, leads to an illicit love that threatens them both.
Caroline Wilson is trapped in a cold and loveless marriage with an older man. When her husband finally wins a long sought-after promotion, Caroline feels she has little choice but to follow him to a new home in San Diego. There she meets Sebastian, a young man of 17. 
For an all too brief summer, their happiness blooms. 
But external pressures begin to bear down, not least from the overbearing David, and Sebastian’s parents begin to suspect that their son has a secret. Even Caroline’s new friend, Donna, realises that dark passions exist below the serene surface.

My Casting

Wow!!! I absolutely completely utterly totally loved this.

Rules are for the obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men.

You’ll need to excuse me, as I’m precariously hanging in limbo right now, after reading an excrutiatingly painful cliffhanger. But never fear… I have The Education of Caroline patiently waiting for me on my Kindle, to be devoured just as soon as I get through this review… so I must be quick.

I get given plenty of books to review. I love doing it. Some are, inevitably, better than others, but I always try and give a fair and accurate review, keeping my responsibility to my blog readers and their tastes in mind.

Sometimes, I read a book that makes me totally forget I am supposed to be reviewing it and sucks me in entirely. The Education of Sebastian is one such book!

“It’s always been you, Caro. The first time I saw you, I thought you were the most beautiful girl that I’d ever seen. I thought you must be a princess like Cinderella. It’s only ever been you.”

Oh my goodness!! At first, I will admit, I kind of wasn’t totally on board with Sebastian and Caroline… I liked them both, I wanted them both to be happy and I could see that they both needed an out from their current lives… but I was convinced that they should be together. Afterall, it was illegal and Sebastian is a child… what does he know about love?!

“What do you think I’ve got here that I wouldn’t give up in a heartbeat to be with you? There’s nothing to keep me here: I’ll go anywhere, do anything to be with you.”

But by the end, I realised how wrong I was! I adored Sebastian! And I was sold on his love for Caroline! He loved her wholly. And she loved him back.

I chose love over law. And I didn’t care.

I’m not going to give too much away, because I wouldn’t want to diminish the reading experience for anyone, it’s fantastic. All I will say is that the ending ripped my heart out and I’m so hoping The Education of Caroline will restore it to it’s rightful place.

Contemplating leaving everything I had ever known of one ill-advised hour of passionate lunacy.

This book is steamy, emotional, heart wrenching, thought provoking, soul searching, a little bit naughty and a whole heap of guilty pleasure!

“The matter, Sebastian, is that you’re a minor. What we’ve just done… what I’ve just done… it’s against the law. It’s a felony, for God’s sake!”

It has notes of On The Island but with it’s own scrummy twists and turns thrown in to scramble your poor little mind and get your pulse racing.

“Sebastian, women like sex just as much as men… if it’s good.”
He tried to smile but still looked uncertain, his forehead creasing with worry.
“Am I…?”
He bit his lip.
I knew what he was trying to ask me.
“Yes, you’re good. In fact I’d say you’re amazing: in so many ways.”

 

I’m praying that the delicious Sebastian gets his Caroline and that together they find the happiness they deserve. They’re such gorgeous characters and I have a feeling that their story is about to get even more exciting. I can’t wait, so, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to find out…

Read this book! It’s fab and it deserves for more people to be talking about it.

 

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Cliffhanger, Delicious Sexual Tension, Five Stars, Forbidden Love, Jane Harvey-Berrick, Steamy Reads, The Education of Sebastian. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Education of Sebastian by Jane Harvey-Berrick ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. stephaniehowarth3 says:

    This book i loved reading i have read it twice and will be reading it again just before The Education of Caroline come out.

  2. Dana Mason says:

    Great review! I’ve been hearing a lot about this one. 🙂

  3. Rusiko says:

    Loved these books!!!!!!!!

  4. Pingback: Smitten’s Author of the Week #8: A. Meredith Walters | Smitten's Book Blog

  5. Pingback: Smitten’s Author of the Week #8: Anne Eliot | Smitten's Book Blog

  6. Pingback: Smitten’s Author of the Week #11: M. Pierce | Smitten's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

