Wounded by Jasinda Wilder ✰✰✰✰✰+

✰✰✰✰✰+

War has taken everything from me. My family. My home. My innocence. In a country blasted by war and wracked by economic hardship, a young orphan girl like me has very few options when it comes to survival. Thus, I do what I must to live, to eat, and I try very hard to not consider the cost to my soul. My heart is empty, and my existence brutal. 

The one impossibility in my life is love.

And then I meet HIM.

War is hell. It takes a chunk out of a man’s very soul to do the kinds of things war demands of you. You live with fear, you live with guilt, and you live with nightmares. If you haven’t been through it, there’s no understanding it. War leaves no room for love, no room for tenderness or softness. You gotta be hard, closed off, and ready to fight every moment of every day. Lose focus for a split second, and you’re dead.

Now the only thing that can save me is HER.

My Casting

You’re going to have to excuse my language… This book. Is Fucking Amazing!!!

Honestly, I’ve never read anything like it and I can not get it out of my head. Sometimes, I wonder if I’m a little too free with my ‘Five Stars’, and this book only compounds those worries, because it’s in a league of it’s own. Five Stars. Six Stars. Ten Stars… it was epic.

“You are so beautiful. Do you know that?”
“I know that men think – ”
“Man. One man. Me. I’m all that matters. No one else can have you. You’re mine.”

It’s brutal. And so bold and nonconformist! It’s a story so horrifically corrupt, yet so beautifully pure, in equal measures. I was addicted to each and every page and could not put this down. I finished it last night, dreamt about it, thought about it when I woke up and I just can not shift it from my mind.

There is nothing ‘standard’ about this book. It is not a boy meets girl, boy and girl fall in love, something messes it up, they overcome said something and live happily ever after. This is so much more and no review I write will do it justice.

Wounded is a book about survival at the most basic of levels and meanings. Not the kind of survival people endure after splitting up with a significant other or losing a job. This is day to day, putting food in your mouth, avoiding bullets/bombs/murder kind of survival. Survival in the darkest, poorest, most desolate corners of our world, when just survival itself is merciless.

I am not a woman, I am a thing. An object, a servant for their needs. Sex is a tool.

Hunter and Rania’s story is touching, heart breaking, overwhelming and unforgettable. About finding love and saviour in the most unlikely and destructive of places. When the love you find is not only the one thing that can save you, but also the one thing that makes the danger consuming your life, all the more deadly.

Such awful timing. There’s a dead man in the bathroom, and I’m trying not to kiss Rania. What the fuck is wrong with you, Hunter?

I fell completely in love with both characters and just didn’t want the book to finish. You know, those books, where you read the last chapter excruciatingly slowly to try and ward off the inevitable impending end. This was that book.

“I will always love you. You saved me, Rania.”
“No, you saved me.”
“We saved each other, then,”

The ending was utterly adorable. It had me melting and ‘aaah’ing all over the place. Rania is endearing beyond words and Hunter is just… *sigh* Hunter. Perfect. And their relationship is impossibly cute.

“What is the word for this kind of underwear? Boxings? Something like that? I cannot think of it.”
“Boxings? Oh, god, Rania. That’s funny. Boxers. They’re called boxers, sweetheart.”

I’d absolutely love to hear that there will be a sequel to this book. I really think there would be call for one. Without including spoilers, all I will say is, Rania has quite a journey ahead of her and I’d love to witness it.

“Baby? I am not a baby.”
“No, I know. It’s…a term of endearment. It’s like ‘honey’ or ‘sweetie’. It just means I love you.”
“If you say so, but it is strange, to call the woman you love as a baby. But then, Americans are strange.”

There is nothing left to say other than, read this book! Honestly, it will stay with me for a long time to come and I will definitely be getting the hard copy, as this is one that needs to sit on my shelf for me to look lovingly at for ever and ever.

“I am not Sabah. I am Rania. And I feel.”
“Good. No more Sabah. Only Rania.”

 

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Delicious Sexual Tension, Five Stars Plus, Forbidden Love, Jasinda Wilder, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads, War, Wounded. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

