Brother’s Keeper by Elizabeth Finn ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

Trapped in a web of hate with no escape, a young woman discovers her attraction to the man determined to protect her may be her undoing. Will time run out, or will he find a way to protect her before her abusive father kills her?

When Rowan is awarded a ballet scholarship to Michigan State University during her senior year of high school, her life’s dream is finally realized. Having lost her mother at an early age and being subjected to the abuse of a destitute drunken father, she has known unimaginable loss and heartache and been left wanting for a better life—a life now within her grasp. But with one ill-fated phone call, her life is turned upside down.

Logan is Rowan’s best friend’s older brother whose career is taking off as he prepares to graduate law school and move cross-country to the prestigious law firm that has offered him a very lucrative contract. When Rowan finds herself at Logan’s mercy after he inadvertently learns of the abuse she has suffered at the hands of her father, their lives become intertwined in a way neither ever imagined nor wanted.

In an effort to protect her, but with his own hands tied by her unwillingness to report the abuse, Logan strikes a deal requiring Rowan to stay with him whenever there is a chance her father might be on a drunken binge—which is often. For her agreement and cooperation, he will keep her secret. Soon, their time together weighs on them both, and they find themselves constantly tempted to step outside the bounds of their supposed platonic relationship. But there is no point. The devastating fact of the matter is their lives are moving in opposite directions—a relationship destined to die before it even has a chance to live.

The ever present clock plagues them both as it ticks off the days until they are parted. But one all important question remains—after he leaves, how will he protect her from a father intent on hating her until the day he dies … or the day he kills her?

My Casting

Wow!!!

I did not expect what I got from this book! I expected a fairly standard, erotic, steamy romance… I got an amazing, emotional, rollercoaster!!!

This was one of those books that you start to read slowly at the end because you just don’t want it to finish. It was fantastic. I was so blown away.

I wanted nothing more than for her to feel me – my desire for her, the pleasure I could give her, my obsession for her.

The book deals with some intensely dark issues of child abuse and there are some graphicly violent scenes as well as deep emotional trauma. That, coupled with the vivid, brilliantly written sex scenes make for an extremely evocative read.

There is no denying I’m once again complete in her presence. This is my place. I belong to her and my place is by her side. And the absoluteness of that statement is profound, and it begs to rewrite my life.

Rowan is barely more than a child, but, thanks to her haunting past, she is mature beyond her years. She is instantly likeable. I empathised with her from the beginning and her story drew me in.

I don’t care if nobody else thinks I’m beautiful, because in this moment, I know Logan does. Eat your heart out Amy’s of the world…

Logan is perfection. He is gorgeous, successful, intelligent, part of a wonderful family and did I mention gorgeous?

The circumstances that throw Logan and Rowan together, initially are intriguing. I couldn’t imagine how the story was going to work and it had me reading greedily.

“Is the bed comfortable?” Please say no. Just give me any reason to get you in my bed.

The sexual tension is palpable and builds like nothing I’ve ever read. It was delicious and I couldn’t get enough of it. You will be jumping your husbands whilst reading this book… it’s that hot!

I whisper every word she needs to hear and I need to say. I tell her how beautiful she is. I tell her she amazes me. I make sure she knows she is the most precious person in the world to me. I make sure she understands what losing her means to me and how impossible it is to imagine my life without her.

My heart broke over and over throughout the book. The fact that their relationship was on the road to nowhere before they had even had the chance to really begin was excruciating. The author makes you feel, so painfully, each of the characters’ hurt. The alternative POV’s makes the reader experience every emotion so deeply.

‘Be happy and well and forget me fast.’

But never fear… The ending was truly wonderful. I am totally, head-over-heels, panties-round-my-ankles, heart-melted-to-mush, in love, lust and everything in between, with Logan. His love for Rowan was profound and undeniable and you can’t help but want to be her!

“I just… can’t be apart from you.”

Elizabeth Finn is a gifted writer. Her characters were honest and loveable. The writing was gripping and flowed seamlessly. The sex scenes were tastefully erotic, true to the story and utterly moreish. And the book as a whole was unforgettable. I got so much more than I’d bargained for with Brother’s Keeper. Read it. If you enjoy graphic but delicious sex scenes and soul tingling romance, you will not be disappointed.

“You don’t owe me forever right now, but God, I hope you’ll give it to me willingly some day.”

 

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Brother's Keeper, Delicious Sexual Tension, Elizabeth Finn, Five Stars, Friends to Lovers, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brother’s Keeper by Elizabeth Finn ✰✰✰✰✰

  1. Jessica says:

    Sounds intense. Adding it to my TBR LIST.

Leave a Reply

