The Siren (The Original Sinners #1) by Tiffany Reisz ✰✰✰

✰✰✰

The Siren is a modern-day retelling of My Fair Lady with uptight English literary fiction editor Zachary Easton as an unwilling Professor Higgins and well-known wild child Nora Sutherlin as his erotica-writing Eliza Doolittle. Zach only has six weeks left at Royal House New York before he heads to Los Angeles to take over as Chief Managing Editor at Royal West. When his boss orders him to help Nora Sutherlin rewrite her latest novel, Zach agrees to work with her only if he is given complete control over the fate of her book. If Nora doesn’t rewrite it to his satisfaction in six weeks, Royal won’t publish it.

My Casting

Nooo. *pouty face* I hate it when everyone else really loves a book and then I really don’t.

It was ok, but I found myself drifting off towards thoughts about what to read next, what the weather is like, what I’m meant to be doing other than reading…

I think the main problem for me was the lack of hero… or perhaps I should rethink that, perhaps the problem was too many characters vying for the position of hero!

I like to feel a connection between my heroine and my hero. I like to be able to root for them throughout the book.

In The Siren, Zach, Wesley and Søren all wanted to be Nora’s hero and I found myself lacking a connection to any one of them.

“You told me to stop writing what I knew and start writing what I wanted to know. I want to know…you.”

I want to fall in love when I invest time and energy in a book. I don’t mind being driven to distraction. I don’t mind crying my eyes dry. I don’t mind having my heart knocked about a bit. As long as I can fall in love when all is said and done. And I really didn’t.

I liked Zach, but he didn’t beguile me. I felt that he could be a friend or somebody I might get along with amicably. I didn’t want to jump his bones or steal his heart.

“Never say goodbye when you leave a party. That way, you leave a mystery in your place. They’ll have so much more fun talking about us than they ever would talking to us. Can’t you already hear them? Zach Easton just left with Nora Sutherlin. Are they… surely not… of course they are-”
“We aren’t,” Zach said with finality.
“I know that. You know that. They don’t know that.”

If I had to choose, I think I felt most emotion for Wesley. Oooh, my heart ached for poor Wes! He seemed the only one to have entirely honourable intentions. He hadn’t wronged anybody, he was totally in love with Nora and I felt that he was obviously going to get hurt.

– SPOILER WARNING –

I felt no connection to Grace, so Zach’s ending was a huge anti climax for me. I understand that she was the love of his life, etc. etc. but in my opinion, the author hadn’t given me any reason to care about her or her needs.

– SPOILER END –

She was every evening and every morning and every night, and during the day when they were apart he was always happy knowing evening and night and morning were coming again.

I don’t know that I’d call the ending a happy one. It wasn’t brutal, but parts of it were sad. As I mentioned, with no many men competing for Nora’s heart, there was no way to keep everybody happy. I know there is a sequel, but I don’t think I will be reading it.

“K-dar, Kinksters can smell it on each other. And my Wesley smells like warm vanilla.”
“Wonder what I smell like.”
“Not kink. But not vanilla, either. Smells like… curiosity. It kills the cat, you know.”

Other than Wes, I did really quite enjoy Nora.

“A Bible-quoting wrotica writer – you are quite the oxymoron,” Zach said.
“And a Moxie Whore-On sometimes.” Nora winked at him.

As frustrating and crazy as I found her to be at times, she was also hilariously funny, brilliantly witty and bold as brass. I loved that. The dialogue was priceless. Her banter was wonderfully comical and if I was rating on that alone, I would have given a lot more stars. It was one of the things that kept me reading.

He flinched and came with a ragged breath…
She picked up the whiskey, poured it and downed him and the shot in one swallow.
She looked down at him.
“I love a whiskey chaser.”

And here comes another ‘but’… I just didn’t believe her emotions a lot of the time. I didn’t believe her love for Wesley. I didn’t believe that she was in love with Zach. And I think her ‘love’ for Søren was more hero worship than anything else.

“Søren could eat you for breakfast and not even need to ches. Don’t ever fuck with a sadist, Wesley. For Søren, torture’s just foreplay.”
“Why did you stay with him?”
“I like foreplay.”

But perhaps that is closed minded of me, from somebody who has never experienced the type of relationship that Søren and Nora had, who am I to judge? But as a reader I found it difficult to relate to.

“To call what Eleanor and I had ‘bliss’ would insult it. Owning her, dominating her, training her to react to the slightest command, the merest brook of my finger, the barest change in my tone, and to love someone so much that anything less than complete and utter possession is unacceptable…that is the purest joy.”

This really is a mixed bag for me. Parts of the book I really enjoyed, parts I hated and parts I just zoned out completely… and as Zach says, the book is nothing without an ending and The Siren just didn’t have an ending I could commit to believing in.

Sorry guys but this one really wasn’t for me. Next.

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in BDSM, Steamy Reads, The Siren, Three Stars, Tiffany Reisz. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Siren (The Original Sinners #1) by Tiffany Reisz ✰✰✰

  1. lalala says:

    i hate sorennnn face

Leave a Reply

