Seduced in the Dark (The Dark Duet #2) by C.J. Roberts ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

BOOK TWO OF THE DARK DUET
The exciting, titillating, and action-filled conclusion to Captive in the Dark.

What is the price of redemption?

Rescued from sexual slavery by a mysterious Pakistani officer, Caleb carries the weight of a debt that must be paid in blood.

The road has been long and fraught with uncertainty, but for Caleb and Livvie, it’s all coming to an end.

Can he surrender the woman he loves for the sake of vengeance? 

Or will he make the ultimate sacrifice?

Quote: 
It seemed to Caleb, the nature of human beings revolved around one empirical truth: we want what we cannot have. For Eve, it was the fruit of the forbidden tree. For Caleb, it was Livvie.

My Casting

I finished this last night. I don’t even know where to begin with it. This series is so off the wall that I’m having trouble wrapping my mind around it.

I don’t think it helped that I had to read it in lots of small parts. I hate doing that. I like to dive in and immerse myself in the story. So I think these circumstances left me somewhat more detached than I would have been otherwise.

And I think, having hated, loved, hated and then loved Caleb in the first book, his actions in this book were just a little too much for me to forgive entirely.

I didn’t hate him like I know I should have, after the evil he inflicted on Olivia, but I also didn’t fall head over heels and forgive him all his wrongs.

“You’re worse than those bikers,” she spat, her body tense and coiling, ready to attack. “At least they knew they were monsters. You’re pathetic! You’re a monster who imagines he’s something else.”

I don’t know how I feel about the ending. I honestly believe there could not have been an ending I would have been happy with with this story. How could there have been? So, I think the ending was the best I could have hoped for but I have to say I’m still not entirely convinced. I don’t know that Caleb deserved to be forgiven. I believe he was entitled to his own happy ever after, but perhaps not with Olivia, as I don’t feel he was deserving of the level of forgiveness she showed him. In my opinion, he’d done too much to her and made her suffer too brutally to be able to go and lead a happy life together.

“That you could fix me? What’s more, that I could fix you? Well, Sorry, pet, I don’t want to be fixed.”

Sorry, I’m rambling now, but I’m trying to make sense of it all.

As for Reed and Sloan… I was confused by their little sub-plot. It irritated me at times as I was chomping at the bit to hear about Caleb and Olivia and couldn’t afford Sloan and Reed the brain space.

adored the twist and completely didn’t see it coming! I can’t say any more so I’ll leave it there, but oh my goodness, so good! And I cried like a baby when he drove her to Texas…

“Live for me, Kitten. Be all those things you’d never be with me. Go to school. Meet a normal boy and fall in love. Forgive me. It’s time for you to go, Kitten. Time for us both, to go.” 

I did love the book, and I couldn’t wait to pick it up again, every time I had to put it down… but it’s left me feeling unsure and ‘hanging’ like a bitch! Book hangover like you wouldn’t believe. But it isn’t because I was in love with the characters, or because I don’t think I’ll read something as good, it’s because the book is a complete mind fuck, lol, and still has me mulling it over and over in my poor tired mind.

Damn, I need to read something else right now. I need to get Caleb and Olivia out of my brain!

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, BDSM, C.J. Roberts, Contracts & Arrangements, Emotional Reads, Four Stars, Kidnap, Steamy Reads, The Dark Duet, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seduced in the Dark (The Dark Duet #2) by C.J. Roberts ✰✰✰✰

  1. again a great review, I’m still not sure if I could read this

  2. t-roxx says:

    loved the book too. The characters were super complicated but so well developed.
    Have you read the book Epilogue? It’s Caleb’s POV.

Leave a Reply

