Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet #1) by C.J. Roberts ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Caleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.

Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.

WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

My Casting

Oh my days!!!! Mind fuck much?! Jeez, I don’t even know where to place my thoughts.

Good God. Ok, hang on, let me think about this… let me try and make some sense of the complete scramble that is currently masquerading as my brain!

Ok, so this is so completely unlike anything I’ve ever read. Let me start by saying that. This is some heavy, deep, dark shit! It isn’t a lovely, fluffy romance. Oh no. This is evil and tortured.

Caleb is fucked up. He is cruel and sick and dangerous… so why don’t I hate him?! I did hate him. Half way through this book I honestly couldn’t see how I could ever like him… but then I did. He kidnapped, beat, tortured and virtually raped Olivia… I feel completely sick in the head, but I can’t hate him. This book made me want to slap myself about the face and scream ‘He’s an evil, twisted criminal!’

“This isn’t a romance. You’re not a damsel in distress and I’m not the handsome prince come to save you.”

I have to say, I did think we were at a cross roads at around 90%. He’d done the hero bit, the book was nearly over and they were having a meaningful conversation. My fingers were painfully tightly crossed that he was going to turn around and say ‘Ok Livvie, let’s run off into the sunset and forget this whole crazy idea.’ But no… instead he says…

“I’m going to sell you as a pleasure slave to a man I despise.”

Oh. Right then. Lovely. Perfect. Just what every beaten up, vulnerable, hopeful kidnapped girl wants to hear. And I know it was so not funny in anyway, you know, the beatings, the bloodshed, the whole sex slave thing, but I did have to chuckle…

He wished he’d never met me? Well, the feeling was definitely fucking mutual.

Fucking mutual indeed.

This book had my heart hammering from my chest and my feet stamping of their own accord as I lived through the whole thing with Olivia. I was audibly squealing and had to bite my lip so that I didn’t shout ‘ruuuuun!!!’. I could not put it down. And now, I need to dive straight into Seduced in the Dark because I can not, for the life of me, imagine how this is going to end…!

I just needed somebody to hold me… To tell me these exact words. Its going to be okay. It wasn’t of course, I knew that. But I didn’t care, I needed the lie.

Yeah. What she said! ^^^ Does she fall in love with Caleb? Does he fall in love with her? Does he save her from the fate he wrote for her, as a sex slave? Does she escape? Oh my goodness, I don’t know if there even is an ending that will sit well with me! How can this turn out Ok? I can’t possibly give it five stars because it’s left me hanging in the balance… but I can’t give it more than 4… I just hope the next book is a 5.

Sorry if this review is a babbling mess… it is literally the thoughts that are pouring out of my fingers from my confuddled brain. And I’m doing it quick, because I need to go read. Like, now!

Read this! Honestly, it’s madness and it’s twisted, but it’s gripping. Good luck!

Add me on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/12994342-smitten
Follow me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/SmittenSC
Find me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/smittensc/
Join in the chat on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/427743250626754/?fref=ts

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, BDSM, C.J. Roberts, Captive in the Dark, Cliffhanger, Contracts & Arrangements, Four Stars, Kidnap, The Dark Duet, Virginal Heroine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

