Unravel Me by Kendall Ryan ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Psychology student Ashlyn Drake’s neat, orderly life takes a turn for the crazy when she finds the perfect subject for her amnesia thesis – a young man without any memory of his previous life, including the murder he’s accused of committing. 

Against all common sense, Ashlyn’s drawn to him like a moth to a flame. Perhaps it’s that he’s so incredibly male, and even handcuffed to his hospital bed he could pass for a cologne ad – Scent de Insanity. Or perhaps it’s because she’s spent too many lonely nights studying. Either way, she’s determined to help him solve the mystery of his past. She begins to unravel who he was before, using his cryptic tattoos, and his paintings that scream of a dark past as her only clues. When she finally learns his secret there’s no telling which one is the real him, the gentle lover she’s fallen for or the troubled man with a dark past.

Something a bit different. A cute, easy, sexy read. Ashlyn and Logan’s story certainly isn’t your average boy-meets-girl fairytale.

I was looking for something painless and uncomplicated, with a bit of steaminess thrown in, after reading a few intensely emotional fade-to-black-sex-scenes, tear-your-heart-to-shreds books… I wanted quick, sexy and straightforward. Now, it wasn’t quite straightforward, but it was an easy read and just what I needed. It took me just an afternoon and evening to get through and my heart remained intact.

And, as for sex! Phew! This book reached pretty high up on the ol’ book thermometer! Ashlyn and Logan/Aiden were hot!!

I hated feeling like I was using him for my own pleasure, but I knew he wouldn’t let me return the favour…if this was the only way I could provide comfort to him and chase away his nightmares, then so be it. Selfless, I know. Mother-friggin-Teresa, right here.

Logan/Aiden was a great hero. You empathised with him from the very beginning. What an awful situation to be in, with no idea who you are, where you live and with nobody to love or claim you. So instantly, you’ve got a character that makes your heart ache. Not only that, he’s super scrummy, ripped to within an inch of his life, has tattoos and is a potential mega-badass! Perfect ingredients for a lovable book boyfriend!

His body was a freaking masterpiece that could easily turn any girl into a drooling sex addict.

And Ashlyn; She’s intelligent, caring, independent and very likeable. I loved watching her battling between her fascination and her growing love for Logan/Aiden, trying to make sense of her feelings and the ethics behind the situation they seemed drawn into together.

He was a mystery to unravel, a puzzle I desperately wanted to solve.

I’d have loved to read more about the getting-to-know-you period of their relationship, as they spoke with one another in the hospital, when they first met, as I felt the book skimmed a lot of that and thus took away some of the emotional connection between reader and characters. I wanted to be a part of that important process and feel them begin to fall for one another.

Another small niggle that bothered me was the lack of dialogue. There was a lot of Ashlyn’s inner monologue that seemed to just explain conversations that had happened, rather than allowing the reader to actually witness the dialogue for themselves. As a reader, I thoroughly enjoy reading books with great dialogue. I feel that that is when you really get to know a character, bond with them and see a relationship evolve, and I felt that Unravel Me lacked that a little.

However, overall, the book was good. It was exactly what I needed at this moment in time.

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Four Stars, Kendall Ryan, Mental Health, Stand Alones, Steamy Reads, Unravel Me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unravel Me by Kendall Ryan ✰✰✰✰

  1. Jenn B. says:

    Love Love Love your blog Smitten!!!
    PLEASE tell me where you find your casting pictures….they’re all amazingly perfect!

Leave a Reply

