The Marriage Bargain (Marriage to a Billionaire #1) by Jennifer Probst ✰✰✰

✰✰✰

A marriage in name only…

To save her family home, impulsive bookstore owner, Alexa Maria McKenzie, casts a love spell. But she never planned on conjuring up her best friend’s older brother—the powerful man who once shattered her heart.

Billionaire Nicholas Ryan doesn’t believe in marriage, but in order to inherit his father’s corporation, he needs a wife and needs one fast. When he discovers his sister’s childhood friend is in dire financial straits, he offers Alexa a bold proposition.

A marriage in name only with certain rules: avoid entanglement. Keep things all business. Do not fall in love. The arrangement is only for a year so the rules shouldn’t be that hard to follow, right?

Except fate has a way of upsetting the best-laid plans…

My Casting

A quick, easy read. This book didn’t rock my world but it was pleasant and undemanding. A nice blend of tension, angst, wit, romance, love and steam.

Hell, at this rate she’d end up in the mental institution by the end of the year.
Cause: Celibacy.

There weren’t any rip-your-heart-out moments for me but I loved the building sexual tension and the avoiding of the inevitable.

I felt that the book would have benefited from a little more depth to take it up a notch, from good to great, and the characters were a little one dimensional. I felt that some of the book seemed a little rushed and I would have enjoyed reading more about their day to day life, getting to know one another, etc. etc.

I didn’t fall head over heels in love with the characters, although I did like them and I didn’t find myself banging my head against any brick walls.

The ending is cute and development of Nick’s character is quite heart warming. But, I have to say, it is very predictable.

“It’s always been you. I don’t want anybody else; I don’t dream about anybody else. It’s only you.”

If you aren’t looking for anything too taxing or emotional, it’s a fun, simple read.

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Contracts & Arrangements, Jennifer Probst, Marriage to a Billionaire, Quick Reads, Stand Alones, The Marriage Bargain, Three Stars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

