The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay ✰✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰✰

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Full of rage and without a purpose, former pianist Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone discovering her past and to make the boy who took everything from her pay.

All 17 year-old Josh Bennett wants is to build furniture and be left alone, and everyone allows it because it’s easier to pretend he doesn’t exist. When your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, a hot mess of a girl who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. The more he gets to know her, the more of a mystery she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he may ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a slow-building, character-driven romance about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.

My Casting

Woah! That was some book. I finished it last night so I’ve had a night to sleep on it, which is always good, when reading something so intense. Gives my brain chance to process the barrage of emotion that The Sea of Tranquillity launched at me…

“How do you see her?… Joy, fear, frustration, longing, friendship, anger, need, despair, love, lust?”
“Yes.”
“Yes, what?”
“All of it,”

But oh my God I loved it! Seriously, this book was stunning!

It’s a tale of agony, loss, rehabilitation, friendship and love of every kind. There are parts that will make you cry, parts that will make your heart race, parts that ooze sexual tension and parts that will make you laugh out loud. There were some brilliantly witty one liners in this book.

I feel like grabbing my crotch and checking to see if my balls are still there, because I think they may be in her pocket and I need to get them back.

This book is so brilliantly written. It’s one of those that truly makes you forget you are even reading. I got completely lost in this story and read until the early hours of the morning without even realising.

Nastya was fascinating. I can’t say that I loved her from the start, but I empathised with her, felt for her, rooted for her and learnt to love her. Her self inflicted mutism was such a powerful tool and made the words she did speak so much more profound.

“Call me Sunshine again, and I will murder you, cocksucker.”

Ok, so perhaps that’s not a great example of profound. But it is damn funny! 😉

Josh, however… well, it’s always easier for a female reader to fall instantly in love with a gorgeous hero, and Josh was no exception to this. He was sad, lonely, beautiful and his POV was my favourite. His gradual realisation of his love for Nastya, having to watch her with Drew, and his fear of loss, was heart wrenching. There were so many gorgeous moments; the pennies in the fountain, ‘Sunshine’, the ice cream, cooking in the kitchen, more than I can count in the garage, the chair, the courtyard… I could go on. I heart Josh Bennett!

“I wished my mother was here tonight, which is stupid, because it’s an impossible wish.”
“It’s not stupid to want to see her again.”
“It wasn’t so much that I wanted to see her again. I wanted her to see you.”

The relationship between Nastya and Josh was intriguing, especially with the added complication of Drew. I couldn’t work out, in my own mind, how it was all going to pan out and I couldn’t stop reading. Nastya and Josh are, undoubtedly, drawn together by their pain and their desolation, which, in itself, is a recipe for both disaster and passion.

The climax of the book was so not what I was expecting. I don’t really know what I was expecting, as I hadn’t stopped to think for long enough… but I hadn’t predicted the series of events that lead to the end of this book. It was brilliant though. My heart was working over time, my stomach was in knots and I just wanted to scoop everybody up and hug all of their pain away!

“You were really good,”
“I was fucking amazing,”
“You still are. Every way that matters.”

But the ending was perfect. Part of me wishes there had been an epilogue but part of me thinks that less is more.

 

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in College Romance, Emotional Reads, Five Stars, Friends to Lovers, Katja Millay, Mental Health, Stand Alones, The Sea of Tranquility, Young Adult Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

