Disastrous by E.L. Montes ✰✰✰

✰✰✰

After struggling with the loss of yet another person so dear to her heart, Mia Sullivan, transforms her frustration and loneliness, into focusing on her future career. As the top of her class at Harvard Law, she’s nervous and excited, when given the opportunity of a summer extern position at one of the top firms in Boston. Her new boss is young, extraordinarily handsome, and the successful, Marcus DeLuca. Slowly she begins to fall for him, but as she caves in to his charms, she begins to discover he is keeping something from her.

Marcus DeLuca is living two lives: one that involves his successful career and the other that could potentially ruin his entire reputation. Every day is a stressful and hectic environment with his busy schedule. His secret could jeopardize not only his life but everyone he loves.That’s why he has no extra room for a serious, romantic relationship, but after meeting Mia he cannot resist her. She is innocent, humble, and pure, the total opposite of him. She distracts him from all of his deep, dark secrets. He knows once Mia finds out the things he has done and who he truly is, she will never want to look at him again. Deep down he knows he must stay away but he can’t. 

Mia and Marcus are heading down a path of love, lies, heart break and betrayal. Can their love conquer all or will it end?

 

Hmm… how to review Disastrous. The first half, I really struggled to connect with. I wasn’t feeling the characters at all and found myself a little irritated by Mia and rolling my eyes at Marcus… I wasn’t convinced by their ‘love’ at all. I can’t put my finger on why that is, it just didn’t work for me.

The second half was better. There was a lot more drama and it allowed me to put my lack of connection to the characters aside. I still wasn’t entirely sucked in, but I felt there was more depth to the second half and I found it easier to invest in.

Mia frustrated me. I’m sorry but there are just some things that are unforgivable and she just seemed to lie down and roll over at the drop of a hat… perhaps my frustration was a result of not believing in their love. I felt like she needed a bit of a slap a lot of the time.

“Fuck you! You want to know who I am, Marcus. Well here it goes! I am temperamental, over-sensitive, and outspoken. I’m honest! I cry at stupid love movies, and I’m a sucker for a romantic novel. I don’t allow people to walk all over me, I have trust issues, and I have insecurities.”

And Marcus just didn’t really do it for me. I’m a sucker for a handsome hero and I usually fall head over heels without a much persuasion whatsoever, but Marcus just didn’t float my boat I’m afraid. I didn’t like his attitude early on the book; the issue with Mia’s relationship with her male room mate, the secrets and lies which contradicted his request to ‘get to know one another’ entirely.

Being with Marcus DeLuca was draining, frustrating, confusing, and extraordinary all at the same time.

She said it! I wouldn’t want Marcus as my book-boyfriend thanks. I’d end up slapping him silly and telling him to grow a pair! Either that or just rolling my eyes in disgust and walking away. His decisions irritated me.

And amongst all of this, the typos, the poor use of punctuation and the use of italics on a random word every other sentence drove me a little batty. These are things I can happily ignore if the story grips me, but all told, I found myself gritting my teeth numerous times.

I’ve been quite negative with this review. I didn’t hate it. I liked it, I just didn’t love it. Like I said, the second half made up for quite a flimsy first half in my opinion.

The ending, however… errrr, what? I assume there is a sequel, although I can’t find anything written about a second book yet…? If so then I do think it’ll be interesting to see what happens in the second book if it isn’t priced too highly.

 

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Disastrous, E.L. Montes, Stand Alones, Three Stars. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

