Charade (The Games Series #1) by Nyrae Dawn ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Nineteen-year-old Cheyenne tries to portray the perfect life to mask the memories of her past. Walking in on her boyfriend with another woman her freshman year in college threatens that picture of perfection. 

Twenty-one-year-old Colt never wanted college and never expected to amount to anything, but when his mom’s dying wish is for him to get his degree, he has no choice but to pretend it’s what he wants too. 

Cheyenne needs a fake boyfriend to get back at her ex and Colt needs cash to take care of his mom, so they strike a deal that helps them both. But what if Cheyenne’s past isn’t what she thought? Soon they’re trading one charade for another—losing themselves in each other to forget about their pain. The more they play their game, the more it becomes the only thing they have that feels real.

Both Cheyenne and Colt know life is never easy, but neither of them expect the tragedy that threatens to end their charade and rip them apart forever.

My Casting

Fantastic. I really enjoyed this book. I’ve given it four stars because I felt that it was a bit predictable, but other than that, it was great.

The situation with Colt’s Mum was so heart breaking, yet so beautiful. I loved the person Colt became when he was with her and I enjoyed reading his POV, even though it was devastatingly sad. This is a real tear jerker.

“He loves you,” she adds. “And I love you. You’re everything I could have hoped for, for him.”

I loved how each of the characters drew strength from one another and each endured their own hardships, whilst steadfastly supporting the other. Their relationship was so beautiful and so unexpected for both of them.

“I thought this was a game,” I reminded him.
“Not anymore and you know it. Everything else in my life is all fucked up. This is the only thing that’s real.”

There was a lot of pain in this book, but it made the moments of joy and love all the more intense.

Aside from all of the hurt, anguish and also romance… Colt is hot. It’s got to be said. People may die and there may be a lot of heartbreak, but credit where credit is due, Colt will get your panties in a twist!

“I’m fucking good at this boyfriend shit. Who would have thought?”

I really enjoyed Nyrae Dawn’s writing style and I do love a good alternate POV book. I’ll definitely be investigating more of her work in the future.

 

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Bad Boys, Charade, College Romance, Contracts & Arrangements, Four Stars, Nyrae Dawn, Stand Alones, The Games Series. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

