Barely Breathing (Breathing #2) by Rebecca Donovan ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Emma’s struggle with an abusive home life came to a heart pounding conclusion in the final chapters of Reason to Breathe. Now everyone in Weslyn knows Emma’s secret, but Carol can’t hurt Emma anymore. Some are still haunted by the horror of that night, and some must face the repercussions of their choices. Fans of Rebecca Donovan’s debut novel will discover there’s still much to learn about Emma’s life.

 

Rebecca Donovan, you are a cruel cruel woman! I trusted you with my heart and you ripped out once with the ending of first book, but you’ve truly done a number on it now… that was excruciating. Pure evil on your part but utterly delicious! What am I going to do with myself until the next book comes out?!

I read until 3.40am this morning because I was completely engrossed in this book.

I would give it five stars, if it weren’t for the fact that I struggled a little with the first 20%… I felt it dragged a little and the characters were frustrating me. The lack of Evan, particularly.

But, oh my goodness, the ending. I blubbed, God, did I blub! My heart broke for Evan over and over again, and then for Emma, and then for Jonathan… and when I thought I knew what I wanted, suddenly I didn’t know anymore. But all I know is that I did not want this ending!

I knew how much Evan loved me. And I knew I didn’t deserve it. But I also knew he was the only one I loved. The only one I would ever love.

I’m so in love with Evan. His pain was so palpable and I just wanted to wrap him up and keep him from hurting. And as for the ‘first time’ under the stars… *heart melts* Completely perfect!

“We can contemplate the meaning of your life all you want, but know that you’re my meaning… the reason behind just about everything I do―and I would never want to change that.”

The last part of the book was so fast paced that I lost myself to it entirely. I don’t think I could possibly recount it all if I tried. But it was fantastic. The emotions felt so real and I just wanted to scream ‘no no no!’ on so many occasions.

I also just have to mention Sara quickly. Doesn’t every girl need a BFF like Sara?! She was such a fantastic character and I think she played a monumental part in making this book what it is.

So, now I have an age to wait for the third book and I’m all but pulling my hair out. I love and hate Rebecca Donovan in equal measures but I’m willing to bow at her feet if it means we can have the next book asap!

“I’m here, Emma. I’ll never let you go,”

 

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Barely Breathing, Breathing, Cliffhanger, College Romance, Emotional Reads, Four Stars, Rebecca Donovan. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barely Breathing (Breathing #2) by Rebecca Donovan ✰✰✰✰

  1. Danielle Ward-Simpson says:

    I love your cast for the books. Can’t wait for the book 3 release. Your writing style is exciting and bold. Love it.

Leave a Reply

