Sheet Music: A Rock ‘N’ Roll Love Story by Ann Lister ✰✰✰✰

✰✰✰✰

Annie Logan and her band, White Rush, have been waiting years for their big break. Taking a last chance at stardom, Annie enters them into a ‘battle of the bands contest’ and wins an opportunity to perform with the legendary rock band, Thrust. This twist of fate puts Annie on a collision course with her larger-than-life rock hero, the infamous guitar God, Michael Wade. Annie’s model good looks and Michael’s dangerously raw rock ‘n’ roll swagger are like a burning fuse on a stick of dynamite. Would she be the woman to finally tame Michael’s wild ways and show him the true meaning of love or would the gritty reality of the music industry prove to be more than she could handle? Sheet Music will give you a backstage pass into the rock ‘n’ roll lifestyle full of egos, excess and extremes; where sometimes even true soul mates aren’t strong enough to survive the heat of the spotlight.

Christ a-bloody-live, I feel like I’ve been through the wringer a hundred times over!!! That was a marathon!

How do I even begin to rate or review a book like Sheet Music? I’m going backwards and forwards between 4 and 5 stars.

“If there is chemistry, and the mind and body are working as one, it’s nirvana. It’s like a well-written symphony or, better yet, perfect… sheet music.”
“Sheet music?”
“Yeah, music between the sheets.”

I absolutely loved it! But I’m tempted to go with 4 stars, only because I feel like it could have been a trilogy with the amount of emotional turmoil, angst and drama in it!! Jesus!

It was long! And so fast paced I almost got motion sickness at times! But I did LOVE it and couldn’t put it down!

Lets see… you’ve got a rock God, a rock chick, love, lust, a car crash, a shooting, infidelity, unplanned pregnancies, a marriage, a divorce, drug addiction, alcoholism, death, attempted rape… to name a handful of the subjects Sheet Music covers! Like I said, emotional turmoil, rapid paced and long… but completely gripping.

The characters are so completely flawed in every way, both of them. But brilliantly developed and you can’t help but root for them.

“I’m not sure I can explain it. I have all this raw emotion inside for you and sometimes I’m not sure what to do with it. I’m afraid if I let it out it will be too overwhelming for you and for me.”

There were some steamy scenes and the chemistry is intense, but there’s so much to this book that the sex scenes almost pale into the background. Also, the use of the word ‘organ’ instead of cock just doesn’t cut it for me I’m afraid.

The only two things that annoyed me were that Michael and Annie seemed to spend more time apart and at times I wanted to stab Annie in the eyes with a fork for being so selfish/dramatic/annoying! And Michael could have done with a swift kick in the balls for being such a wet fish! But he is also completely adorable at times so we can let him off.

“Life has few guarantees, Annie. But one thing I know for certain, I will never stop loving you as long as I can still draw breathe into my lungs.”

So yeh, as much as I loved it and was totally taken in, I think it was a bit heavy on the old emotional whiplash and could do with being split into at least two shorter books!

Now that I’ve finished, I need a glass of wine and to find me something light hearted to read! Phew!

 

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Action/Drama Reads, Angst Overload, Ann Lister, Four Stars, Rock Star Romance, Sheet Music: A Rock ‘N’ Roll Love Story, Stand Alones. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

