Playing for Keeps (A Neighbor from Hell #1) by R.L. Mathewson ✰✰✰✰

Done with being the world’s biggest pushover, Haley decides that things are going to change starting with the aggravating neighbor who has too much charm and not enough restraint. What she didn’t expect was to be sucked into his world, but Haley has a game plan and she won’t let herself forget just what the bad boy next door is capable of. The last thing Jason expected was for his little shy neighbor to go Rambo on him over some ruined flowers. After he decides to take her under his wing he can’t help but notice that she fits very nicely in his life. Now the only thing left is to convince her that this is anything but a game.

A great easy read! Haley was cute and Jason was pretty damn gorgeous. I loved the way their friendship gradually, naturally turned into something more. In that way it reminded me of ‘The Boy Who Sneaks in my Bedroom Window’.

“I’m tired and bitchy and all I want is some sleep so cuddle your ass up with me or so help me I will kill you.”

I enjoyed the chemistry between them and the building sexual tension. And Jason’s thoughts about Haley were just super cute and believable!

The development of their relationship was so natural. I love it when two characters cross that line from friends to something more… it seems to build the suspense so well and really get my knickers in a twist.

As he was gasping for air he realized something. He was in deep shit. Haley was his life now. His woman. His heart.
He was so screwed.

The book was pretty angst free and I liked that some of the angst was replaced by humour. It was such an easy read and this added to that.

“Hey! I thought you said you were gay!” the man said accusingly. 
Without missing a beat Jason said, “She is. I’m just her bitch.”

The only reason it lost a star for me was because it isn’t one of those that will sit with me forever after. Just a cute, easy, read.

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in A Neighbor from Hell, Four Stars, Playing for Keeps, R.L. Mathewson. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

