Bouquet Toss by Melissa Brown ✰✰✰✰

Ever since Daphne Harper graduated from college, all of her friends have fallen in love, become engaged and walked down the aisle. Be it a blessing or a curse, Daphne (a hopeless romantic and perpetual single girl) catches the bouquet at every single wedding she attends. 

Daphne’s love life is a mess. Her first love, Mayson, haunts her heart and keeps her from pursuing happiness with any man who comes along. As she struggles to move on from the one who got away, Daphne wonders if she will ever break her curse and find her happily ever after.

WARNING: TO SAVE YOURSELF FROM ACUTE EMBARRASSMENT DO NOT READ THIS BOOK IN PUBLIC

Oh my goodness gracious me! It is rare that I actually show my emotions whilst reading a book, regardless of how much I feel them. I’ve gotten keeping things under wraps down to an art, in order not to look daft in public/wake up the other half/get strange looks directed my way… but this book blew that out of the water!

Sometimes, I’ll shed a discrete tear or have a lip wobble at an extremely sad moment but last night I sobbed! My pillow was soaked, my nose was running and I have Melissa Brown to thank for my puffy eyes this morning!

My heart thumping in my chest as I’m brought back to him, to Mayson Holt, the boy who stole my heart, broke it and disappeared from my life five years ago. The man who I do not allow myself to think about. The man who still owns a very large piece of my soul.

I was really pleasantly surprised by this book. I downloaded it from Amazon because it was free yesterday and it was on my TBR list anyway. I had no idea what to expect but figured I had nothing to loose. A couple of chapters in and I’ll admit, I wasn’t sold. It took a while to get going, I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to invest in the characters and I wasn’t sure the story was for me… I like a definite, swoonworthy, steadfast male character that I can instantly fall in love with (no matter how unrealistic, hell, there’s enough realistic, un-loveable male characters in the real world thank you very much, lol) and I wasn’t getting that. I stuck with it through curiosity and before I knew it, I was a blubbering wreck at the 40% mark and my other half had woken up from my sniffling and was staring at me like the inevitable had finally happened… I’d lost the plot!

So, clearly, somewhere along the line, without even realising it, I must have become emotionally embroiled in the lives of these characters and after that, I couldn’t put it down!

“You make me lose control in the best possible way. You bring out the best in me, you make me feel things in a way I never imagined.”

I eventually gave in and turned out my light at 70% done, only to wake up stupidly early and devour the final 30% this morning, making me late to my desk! Lol!

But really, I can’t review too intricately without giving something away and I so don’t want to do that. I couldn’t for the life of me see how Melissa Brown was going to get herself back into my good books half way through this book, but she really did! Just know that the ending is adorable.

“I’m a hopeless romantic, I guess. I’m always thinking of Happily Ever Afters.”

The only negatives I can pick out were that the beginning was a little slow and I think there could have been some deeper character development (especially when dealing with some heart wrenching issues) and a little more steam… and that’s why I’ve deducted a star. But it really was a great, original plot and well worth the read.

I feel a little guilty for getting it for free now!

Like this review and want to keep up to date with more book news…?

Follow me at the links below…

     

This entry was posted in Bouquet Toss, Emotional Reads, Four Stars, Melissa Brown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

